“Structured” Inspiration

Standard

Since fall is not coming anytime soon (it’s 100 degrees outside), then I will distract myself with other inspirations.  Some of my strongest inspirations come from structures.  I have not yet figured out how to translate this inspiration into a creation.  But, I am thinking that over time I will figure it out.  So, I will continue collecting images of structures that speak to me.  There are many things that inspire me in these structures…

  • The careful execution of the creation and the craftsmanship.
  • The shapes whether they are angular and simple or flowing and ornate.
  • The colors; I tend to be drawn to a full spectrum of colors but often find myself in love with the saturated hues.
  • The materials used.  I like the juxtaposition of materials and how they can be blended together to make magic.
Above all else, I am fascinated by the “how”.  Kind of the proverbial “where did I come from question” expanded.  I am always wondering how something went together, how it was constructed, how things were actually made and who did it.  I want to know the story, the false starts, the type of person who created and constructed and what they were thinking during the process.  I tend to take something like this and weave a careful story about the person, the people, their family and their lives.  I am not sure why I do it, but it’s how I think.  I am intrigued and a story is woven with little snippets that I observe or just the shear feeling I have in the moment.

These are just a few of the images that I have collected over time.  There are structures that I realize I have left out including bridges – love them.  And, the great opera house in Sydney, Australia which I have had the opportunity to see in person.  Just like everything else, I continue to collect these images on my pinterest page.

The reality is that we are surrounded by these structures.  Maybe they are not as obvious and bold as the images above, but they are everywhere.  While it may be a goal to see all these amazing places in person, it should also be a goal to see the inspiration in the things that we come across everyday.  What are the everyday things that inspire you?

Be Inspired

Wendy

What do you have to say? :)