From Inspiration to Creation – New Fabric Lines

Standard

Last year at this time, I was headed to Houston for the International Quilt Festival.  It was an amazing experience and overwhelmed me with inspiration.  It is almost sensory overload.  Now is the time of year when the fabric designers roll out their best for the show.  Even though I won’t be going this year, there are plenty of places online to see the new lines and to check out the happenings at the quilt festival.  I thought I would share with you a few of my favorite lines that I came across in the last few days while surfing the web.

First up is Terrain by Kate Spain.  If you don’t know Kate Spain by name, you probably know her by seeing many of her prints and patterns on housewares and stationary at Target.  She has a great eye and I am personally inspired by how she translates her photographs into imagery and then into sketches which finally make their way to fabric.  It is truly beautiful.

Below, you actually can see the photos that inspired her line and the hand sketches that resulted.  I am fascinated by how the original inspiration changes and evolves until the final product.  I have not quite connected these things in my head for my own creativity.  But, that doesn’t mean it isn’t possible!!

Kate Spain Terrain - Fall Line

You can find out more about Kate Spain on her website and blog.  In addition, there is a great interview with Kate Spain at Ryan Walsh Quilts which you might find interesting.  This line is at the top of my list right now for my next fabric order…..

Another great new line that I am in love with is Daisy Cottage by Lori Holt of Bee in My Bonnet (fabric by Riley Blake Designs).  This fabric is adorable and so are the quilts to accompany the line.  I love the mix of the grey, yellow and pink in the line.

Daisy Cottage by Riley Blake Designs

Riley Blake has some of the most talented fabric designers and the most amazing booth at the quilt festival.  I couldn’t stay away last year and this sneak peak proves that it will be just as good as last year.  I just want to buy the kit right now and start sewing.  I am personally in love the with chandelier fabric…it is adorable.

There will be more to come as I become inspired from the comfy chair behind my computer.  Until later….I will continue to daydream in my pajamas.

What do you have to say? :)

