Pizza Pull Apart Bread is a WINNER

Standard

I am using pinterest more and more to collect recipes and ideas that I see and want to try.  Rather than clip something out of a magazine or bookmark it on the computer and never use it, I seem to really use pinterest to keep ideas and actually try them.  I saw this recipe for Pizza Monkey Bread (I call it pull apart) a few weeks ago and pinned it.  Then, when checking yesterday for just the right appetizer recipe for my niece’s 6th birthday party, I decided on this recipe.

I used the idea from the recipe above and headed to the store.  I decided that I didn’t want to make anything from scratch so I set out to get items that were ready to go.

My Shopping List

  • 3 Cans Thick Pillsbury Pizza Dough
  • 1 Bag of Turkey Pepporoni
  • 1 Bag of Mozzarella Cheese Sticks (cut into small chunks)
  • 4 Tbs of Butter
  • 2 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Small Container Pizza Sauce

Supplies You Need

  • Pan – I used a bundt pan. You will want a pan that is somewhat deep so that you can stack the rolls.
  • Baking Brush (not required but helpful)

So, when I had all the ingredients on the table and my husband saw the bundt pan, he was a bit confused to say the least.  He thought a dessert with pizza sauce????

Here’s how you pull it all together…really simple, but allow yourself a good 15 to 20 minutes to get it oven ready.

  • Take butter and garlic over medium head and melt until garlic starts to brown.
  • Remove from heat and set aside.
  • Take small chunks of pizza dough (a little under a Tbs) and press flat.
  • Place a piece of pepperoni and cheese piece in the middle.
  • Fold over the dough and roll into a ball.  Make sure everything is completely covered in the middle.
  • Place in the bottom of your pan and brush the garlic butter sauce on the ball.
  • Keep adding to your pan until you have finished all of your dough.
  • Cover and let sit for 30 minutes.
  • Heat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Cook for 30 to 35 minutes until the top is lightly browned.
  • Remove from oven, let sit for 10 minutes.
  • Turn your pan over onto your serving dish, add pizza sauce for dipping and you are done!

So, I got too excited and forgot to take a photo of the final product!  But, it turned out great and was a hit.  It is also very kid friendly.  It would also be a fun recipe to try with kids that like to cook.  It’s a fun hands on recipe.

Here’s a photo from the website linked above for this recipe…thanks for the assistance in the final photo that I forgot to take.  And, yes, it did look something like this.

Check out my pinterest board with all of my pinned recipes for appetizers and entertaining.  Hope you have a great Sunday.  Hoping for rain here and to get a little sewing in!  Wouldn’t that be great!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Scrambled Eggs with Mushrooms on Pizza Bread (in 15 minutes!) | Alison Amazed

What do you have to say? :)

